Hellebuyck Named to All-South Division Team



May 3, 2012



Jacks’ netminder adds to impressive awards haul in 2011-12.


FRISCO, TX– In advance of the 2012 Robertson Cup Tournament, the North American Hockey League announced Wednesday that Odessa Jackalopes goaltender Connor Hellebuyck was named to the 2011-12 NAHL All-South Division Team. The future UMass-Lowell River Hawk received the honor following a vote by NAHL head coaches and team executives.

A Commerce, Michigan native, Hellebuyck distinguished himself during the 2011-12 season as one of the NAHL’s finest netminders, finishing the regular campaign with league-leading totals in appearances (53), minutes played (3084:37) and total saves (1695) and the league’s second-best save percentage (.930).

Other honorees on the NAHL’s All-South DivisionTeam include forwards Jack Prince (Texas) and Brian Christie (Topeka) and three Amarillo Bulls, Brooks Behling, John Rey and Karl Beckman.

Already the 2011-12 ‘Bill & Tracey Nyborg Jackalopes Most Valuable Player’ and ‘Jackalopes’ Rookie of the Year’ winner and 2011-12 NAHL All-Rookie First Team honoree, Hellebuyck can add to his impressive awards haul on May 6th and 7th when, as part of the NAHL’s Robertson Cup festivities, the league will announce the 2011-12 All-NAHL Team and hand out the hardware for the ‘Brian’s Goaltender of the Year’ Award, the NAHL ‘Rookie of the Year’ Award and NAHL MVP Award among many other league-wide honors.

In 2012-13, the Odessa Jackalopes drop the puck on their second season as a member of the North American Hockey League. Season ticket packages for the Jacks’ sophomore campaign are available now starting at just $179. To reserve your seats, contact the Jackalopes’ ticket office today at 432-552-7825 or log on to www.jackalopes.org for more information.

Be sure to follow the Jackalopes on Twitter @LetsGoJacks all season long and don’t forget to ‘Like’ the official “Odessa Jackalopes” fan page on Facebook.