Hellebuyck Cleans up at NAHL Awards



May 7, 2012



Jacks’ netminder named to All-NAHL Team, shares Rookie and Goaltender of the Year Awards.


FRISCO, TX– As part of the annual NAHL Awards Banquet, the North American Hockey League announced Sunday that Odessa Jackalopes goaltender Connor Hellebuyck has been named to the 2011-12 All-NAHL Team and, along with Wenatchee Wild netminder Robert Nichols, shares the ‘Brian’s Goaltender of the Year’ and 2011-12 NAHL Rookie-of-the-Year Awards. All NAHL Award honorees are determined according to a vote among NAHL Head Coaches and team executives.

A Commerce, Michigan native, Hellebuyck distinguished himself during the 2011-12 campaign as one of the NAHL’s finest netminders, finishing the regular season with a 26-21-5 record, three shutouts and a 2.49 goals-against average. The 6’4” backstop and hopeful 2012 NHL draftee anchored the Jackalopes’ 2011-12 playoff run, turning in league-leading totals in appearances (53), minutes played (3084:37) and total saves (1695), all the while earning the league’s second-best save percentage (.930).

Already the 2011-12 ‘Bill & Tracey Nyborg Jackalopes Most Valuable Player’, ‘Jackalopes’ Rookie of the Year’ winner, a 2011-12 NAHL All-Rookie First Team honoree and member of the 2011-12 All-South Division Team, Hellebuyck’s five 2011-12 NAHL Awards are the most earned by any NAHL player this season.

Other winners at the 2012 NAHL Awards Banquet included All-NAHL Team members Gabe Levin, JT Osborn and Sean O’Rourke (Fairbanks), 2011-12 Defenseman of the Year and All-NAHL’er John Rey (Amarillo) and 2011-12 All-NAHL forward, NAHL Most Valuable Player and Forward of the Year Joe Kalisz (St. Louis). Port Huron Fighting Falcons Head Coach Bill Warren is the 2011-12 NAHL Coach of the Year, Fairbanks Ice Dogs General Manager Rob Proffitt is the 2011-12 NAHL GM of the Year and the Amarillo Bulls are the 2011-12 NAHL Organization of the Year.

Additional winners on Sunday include 2011-12 Academic Achievement Award honoree Alex Globke (Port Huron), 2011-12 ‘Gongshow Lifestyle Community Service Award’ recipient Brooks Behling (Amarillo) and the winner of the 2011-12 ‘Mark Messier Leadership Award’, Jack Price, captain of the 2012 Robertson Cup Tournament hosts, the Texas Tornado.

In 2012-13, the Odessa Jackalopes drop the puck on their second season as a member of the North American Hockey League. Season ticket packages for the Jacks’ sophomore campaign are available now starting at just $179. To reserve your seats, contact the Jackalopes’ ticket office today at 432-552-7825 or log on to www.jackalopes.org for more information.

Be sure to follow the Jackalopes on Twitter @LetsGoJacks all season long and don’t forget to ‘Like’ the official “Odessa Jackalopes” fan page on Facebook.